Orchard Park Depot
The Orchard Park railroad depot at Highland Avenue and South Lincoln Street is not your average small town railroad station. Built in 1911 by the Buffalo, Rochester Pittsburgh Railway, it was uncommonly substantial thanks to the railway president, Harry Yates, who lived in the village of Orchard Park. The depot is an exact replica a stone H.H. Richardson depot in Auburndale, Massachusetts. The only difference is the Orchard Park depot is made of "Tapestry Brick".
It is uncommon for a village this size to have a depot of this stature with a freight house, 100 feet away. Mr Yates, spared no expense, taking care of his little village. The passenger depot features separate men's and women's waiting rooms, wooden wainscoting, exposed wooden ceiling beams and most of all the original wooden benches.
The Buffalo, Rochester & Pittsburgh Railway was taken over by the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad in 1932 and later absorbed into the Chessie System in the mid 1970's. Passenger service ended in the mid 1950's, but a freight agent was on duty until 1979. Developer Edmund F. Burke of Burke Realty and Construction Company, donated the depot to the Society in 1990 after he was unsuccessful in getting village permission to convert the building into a restaurant.
January 28th, 2013
Viewed 90 Times - Last Visitor from New York, NY on 04/14/2015 at 1:47 AM