Comment, Like, & Favorite
Back lighted Spanish moss casts an erie glow on the deserted late-night landscape in New Orleans Audubon Park as the ancient oaks stand silently watchful. A sublime experience after hours when few people are in the park and the visitor can experience the sounds of nature.
Audubon Park—once home to Native Americans, and later, to New Orleans' first mayor, Etienne de Boré. He founded the nation's first commercial sugar plantation here and developed its first granulated sugar through a process invented by Norbert Rillieux, a local free man of color. The land would not fall into public hands until 1850, when a philanthropist willed it to the city. During the Civil War, the location alternately hosted a Confederate camp and a Union hospital. In 1866, it was the activation site for the 9th Calvary, the "Buffalo Soldiers" whose defense of our country's western frontier made an indelible mark on America's African-American heritage.
Site improvements made for The World's Industrial and Cotton Centennial Exposition of 1884 (Louisiana's first world's fair) laid the foundation for an urban park. The city had acquired the land for this purpose in 1871 and in 1886, city planners changed the park's name from Upper City Park to Audubon Park. This was in tribute to artist/naturalist John James Audubon who painted many of his famed "Birds of America" in Louisiana.
June 4th, 2012
Viewed 140 Times - Last Visitor from New York, NY on 09/30/2014 at 8:55 AM
copy and paste to your website / blog - preview