Thunderbolt Rollercoaster Neon Sign
Photograph - Photography
The year was 1941. Franklin D. Roosevelt was President of the United States, Jitterbug was all the rage, and the wooden coaster Thunderbolt was making its debut. Still going strong in 2012, it's the oldest coaster at Six Flags New England and also the oldest coaster at any Six Flags park.
A rich history
Erected when Six Flags New England was known as �Riverside Park,� the new ride was based on the Cyclone coaster that operated at the 1939-1940 New York World�s Fair. After the Fair, the coaster�s plans were purchased, and a new coaster constructed by Joseph E. � Drambour and the Philadelphia Toboggan Company � the oldest existing manufacturer of wood coasters and their trains.
The park�s wooden classic opened for the 1941 season with its Cyclone name and was renamed Thunderbolt the following year. It was built to commemorate Riverside Parks 100th anniversary and to attract visitors to the park, which had recently reopened after closing during the Great Depression.
February 25th, 2013
Viewed 289 Times - Last Visitor from Beverly Hills, CA on 08/02/2015 at 11:20 PM