Comment, Like, & Favorite
Unique Delicate Arch
An unusual angle and treatment on a very photographed iconic subject.
Because of its distinctive shape, the arch was known as "the Chaps" and "the Schoolmarm's Bloomers" by local cowboys. It was given its current name by Frank Beckwith, leader of the Arches National Monument Scientific Expedition, who explored the area in the winter of 1933-1934. This arch played no part in the original designation of the area as a U.S. National Monument in 1929, and was not included within the original boundaries; it was added when the monument was enlarged in 1938.
In the 1950s, the National Park Service investigated the possibility of applying a clear plastic coating to the arch to protect it from further erosion and eventual destruction. The idea was ultimately abandoned as impractical and contrary to NPS principles.
Copyright © Adam Romanowicz. All Rights Reserved.
January 7th, 2013
Viewed 304 Times - Last Visitor from Ijmuiden, 07 - Netherlands on 01/23/2015 at 10:45 PM
copy and paste to your website / blog - preview