Copyright 2013 RC deWinter ~ All Rights Reserved
This is a view, on a moody April day, of the harbor in the picturesque Connecticut village of Southport, which is part of the town of Fairfield.
Founded as Mill River village in the early part of the 17th century, the earliest recorded history refers to the Fairfield Swap Fight in 1637. Originally a collection of small houses and a wharf, products from the small farms in the area were shipped down the Mill River to New York and further,
The name of the settlement was changed to Southport by 1831, and it had grown to be be a busy area of elegant houses, shops, warehouses and one of only two banks in the town of Fairfield. Southport became a major coastal port, shipping all manner of goods back and forth to and from New York City.
In 1971 Southport was added to the National Register of Historic Places as the Southport Historic District. Today the village retains the elegance from the past, featuring architecturally significant homes and s...